Students from 21 countries study and train at the Flagship university of Kuzbass

20.11.2019 | 10:38

Kemerovo State University currently teaches 922 students from 14 countries: Azerbaijan, Armenia, Vietnam, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, the Republic of Korea, Latvia, Mongolia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine. Students from Belguim and Italy are taking their Internships at KemSU this year, while citizens of Afghanistan, Guinea, Zambia, China and Mongolia were enrolled in the Preparatory Department. Kemerovo State University has been training foreign students in the Preparatory Department since 1991. At the end of the academic year 2018/2019, citizens of Guinea, India, Sudan, Côte d’Ivoire, Laos, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Vietnam and China graduated from the Preparatory Department of KemSU.

KemSU’s Centre for Intercultural Communications was created to facilitate the adaptation of foreign students at the university functions. KemSU organizes the Summer School for foreign applicants, different activities throughout the year, and the festival “Multinational Kuzbass”. These events are aimed at maintaining and developing the intercultural dialogue among students of different nationalities. Tutor help foreign students with preparing the necessary documents for registration, as well as in everyday matters. The Centre for Intercultural Communications also serves as a platform for the implementation of ideas and projects of students of different nationalities, aimed at preserving and promoting cultural traditions, and teaching respect for each other. Thus, in November 2019, the contest “Dishes of national cuisines” brought together students from Zambia, China, Korea and Afghanistan at KemSU.